Monday, 14 July 2014

Fascists not welcome in Cricklewood

Make Willesden Green is participating in the North West London United campaign against a planned fascist march through Cricklewood this coming Saturday (19th July). Along with many other local groups and trade unions we have signed the statement below, and we hope that as many local residents as possible will join the protest at 12 noon on Cricklewood Broadway to say that racist hate is not welcome in our neighbourhood.

Fascists not welcome in Cricklewood

The South East Alliance (SEA), a group of racist, Islamophobic thugs is threatening to return to Cricklewood on Saturday July 19th. This group, made up of remnants of the Essex branch of the EDL, includes known fascists and has links to Ulster loyalists. They say they are demonstrating against the headquarters of the Muslim Brotherhood, but since that organisation moved to Austria in April before the SEA came to Cricklewood on 14th June, they clearly intend simply to bring their message of hatred to disrupt Cricklewood’s vibrant multicultural community.

In Cricklewood, as in the whole of North West London, we are proud of our diversity. Here people live and work together, children study, play and grow up together in mutual respect, regardless of faith or skin colour, language or place of birth. We will not tolerate attempts to divide us or stir up hatred. We stood united on June 14th to show the SEA that there is no place here for their racism and Islamophobia. We ask you to join us on 19th July to do the same again. 
This statement has been signed by:

Rev Jane Morris Vicar St Gabriels Walm Lane NW2

Rt Rev Pete Broadbent Bishop of Willesden and Deputy Bishop of London

Rabbi Aaron Goldstein Senior Rabbi Northwood & Pinner Liberal Synagogue

North West Islamic Cultural Centre

The following Brent Councillors:

Cllr Muhammed Butt (Tokyngton) Cllr Rita Conneely (Kilburn), Cllr James Denselow (Queens Park), Cllr Liz Dixon (Dollis Hill), Cllr Harbi Farah (Welsh Harp), Cllr Sabina Khan (Stonebridge), Cllr Arshad Mahmood (Dollis Hill), Cllr Margaret McLennan (Northwick Park), Cllr Tom Miller (Willesden Green), Cllr Neil Nerva (Queens Park), Cllr Michael Pavey (Barnhill) Cllr Ahmad Shazad (Mapesbury), Cllr Sam Stopp (Wembley Central),

Cllr Lorna Russell Fortune Green, Camden Council

Cllr Abigail Wood Haverstock, Camden Council

Andrew Dismore London Assembly Member for Barnet and Camden

Tulip Siddiq Labour PPC for Hampstead & Kilburn

Pete Firmin President, Brent Trades Union Council

Roger Cox Secretary, Brent Trades Union Council

Eddie Dempsey Branch Secretary Paddington no1 branch RMT

Bill McKinstry RMT Paddington No 1

Leon Brumant Vice chair RMT Bakerloo line branch

Mary Addosides National Union of Teachers Brent

Helen Davies Chair Barnet Unison

Steve Forrest GMB London Central President

Robin Sivapalan Unite Community

Sarah Cox Brent & Harrow Unite Against Fascism

Martin Francis Brent Green Party

P. Murry Secretary Green Party Trade Union Group

Scott Bartle Brent Green Party

Shahrar Ali Chair Brent Green Party

Graham Durham Brent & Harrow Labour Representation Cttee

Alex Colas Make Willesden Green

Sujata Aurora Make Willesden Green

Michael Calderbank Brent Fightback / Red Pepper Magazine

John Tymon Football Against Apartheid

Stephane Goldstein Chair, Kilburn Brent Labour Party

David Kaye Secretary, Kilburn Brent Labour Party

No comments: